Record Time

Wow —  I think I’ve just set a personal record for checkout prep time.

Two weeks ago, all 11 new Silver Pin checkout figures accounted for (Waltz = Hesitations Left and Right; Foxtrot = Grapevine; Tango = Fallaway to Fan; Mambo = double spin; Rumba = Snap Turn; Swing = Kick Ball Change, Shoulder Spin, Toe Heel Swivels, Lindy Variation, Promenade Walks, and Back to Back Swivel).

Last week: The Icon had me do a full run through of all 18 Rhythm figures.

This week: we covered all 18 Smooth figures, and The Icon says, “OK, you’re ready.” Next thing I know, he’s checking the schedule and has me in for Friday, December 4th, 2:00 pm … CHECK OUT !!!!

It only goes to show that hard work does pay off. I’ve been doing my homework so basically only needed The Icon’s eagle eye and insistence on perfection to bring everything to presentation ready format.

So I’ll be using this coming week for fine tuning; flashcards, music, technique, nerves, panic. You know the drill.

Anyway, moving on,The City’s Challenge is December 19th, and The Icon is chomping at the bit to get going on that front. I’ll be doing 10 single dances plus the Closed Silver Scholarship.altman-2

Although this is a small, one day competition, it’ll be a good venue just for getting my rhythm out on the floor again. Besides, it’s a fun venue — The Altman Building on 18th Street in NYC.The ballroom is on the ground floor, with these huge arced doors and windows opening directly out onto 18th Street. You can watch the passers-by stop and look in, awestruck at seeing an actual ballroom competition in full swing.altman-1

Not sure at this point exactly how I feel about going out for rhythm again, but I’m determined to face it with new attitude firmly in place. And truth be told, in spite of all my whining and bitching and complaining, I love being out there on the floor, done up to the nines, adrenaline pumping, skirts flying, feeding off The Icon’s knock ’em dead energy … what an absolute rush!altman-3I’m sure between now and then I’ll be running through every emotion in the book (and then some), but for right now, I’M ACTUALLY  LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS!!!!empire 2014

One …. Step …. At …. A …. Time

Leave a comment